## National Conference on "Frontiers of Chemical Sciences in New Millennium" November 22, 2018

## Organized by

Department of Chemistry, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth (Deemed to be University), Udaipur (Rajasthan) Sponsored by

S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata

## REPORT

On the occasion of 125th Birth Anniversary of Prof. S. N. Bose, One Day National Conference on "Frontiers of Chemical Sciences in New Millennium" was held at Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Sciences, M. V. Shramjeevi College, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth (Deemed to be University), Udaipur (Rajasthan) on 22nd November 2018. It was sponsored by S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata.

In the Inaugural function, Prof. Suresh C. Ameta, Former President of Indian Chemical Society, Kolkata, & Dean, Faculty of Science, PAHER University, Udaipur was the Chief Guest. Prof. P. B. Punjabi, Professor and Former Head, Department of Chemistry, M. L. Sukhadia University, Udaipur was Guest of Honour. Prof. R. P. Naraniwal, Registrar, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth was Special Guest. Prof. Suman Pamecha, Principal, M. V. Shramjeevi College, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth presided the function. After lamp lighting, Dr. Rakshit Ameta, Convener of the Conference & Head, Department of Chemistry, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth welcome the delegates and presented the theme and schedule of the conference. Shri Riyaz Hussain, Deputy Registrar, M. V. Shramjeevi College, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth delivered vote of thanks.

In the first technical session, the first invited lecture was delivered by Dr. Atindra Nath, Assistant Professor, S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata on 'Electronic Transport in 2D Graphene to Single Molecule'. Thereafter, a documentary on Prof. Satendra Nath Bose was shown to the delegates. The second invited lecture was delivered by Prof. M. L. Kalra, Former Vice Chancellor, University of Kota, Kota (Former

Professor & Head, Department of Physics, M. L. Sukhadia University, Udaipur) on life and contribution of Prof. Bose. He also mentioned about some special achievements of Prof. Bose. Prof. P. B. Punjabi chaired this technical session. Guests of inaugural function, invited speakers and chair person were felicitated by presenting memento.

After completion of first technical session followed by lunch, in the second technical session, posters were presented by Faculty members and Research scholars of different Colleges and Universities. 40 delegates presented their research work in this session. Posters were examined by three judges. In this conference, an essay competition was also conducted for undergraduate and postgraduate students on the theme 'Life and Contribution of Prof. S. N. Bose'. 65 students of different colleges and universities participated in this competition. In the valedictory function, the report of the conference was presented by Dr. Surbhi Benjamin. In essay competition, First Prize was given to Yomin Sen (J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth), Second Prize to Divya Dani (PAHER University) and Third Prize to Shidhant Asawara (J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth). In poster competition, First Prize was given to Kanchan Kumari Jat (M. L. Sukhadia University), Second Prize to Gunjan Kashyap (M. L. Sukhadia University) and Third Prize to Satish Kumar Ameta (Mewar University).

## **ORGANIZING COMMITTEE**

**Chief Patron:** Shri H. C. Parekh, Chancellor, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth (Deemed to be University), Udaipur.

**Patron:** Col. Prof. S. S. Sarandevot, Vice Chancellor, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth (Deemed to be University), Udaipur.

**Convener:** Dr. Rakshit Ameta, Head, Department of Chemistry, J. R. N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth (Deemed to be University), Udaipur.

**Members:** Dr. Jai Singh Jodha, Dr. Bhavesh Joshi, Dr. Sapna Shrimali, Dr. Sanyogita Sharma, Dr. Surbhi Benjamin, Dr. Dipti Soni, Dr. Varsha Choudhary, Dr. Jyoti Bhardwaj, Dr. Purnima Dashora, Dr. Krishna K. Rathore, Dr. Neha Guhil, Ms. Garima Sharma, Ms. Pooja Joshi