Flatlands and beyond (2019) – A meet on 2D materials

September 5-6, 2019
Venue : S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata


The isolation of a single layer of graphene has led to a lot of interest in the properties of two-dimensional materials. The purpose of this meeting is to bring together experts on this topic within the country working on various aspects of these materials.

Topics of the Conference

The conference will discuss various topics listed below, though it will not be restricted to these topics

  1. Optical properties
  2. Growth of 2d materials
  3. Transport
  4. High energy spectroscopies
  5. Magnetic properties of layered materials
  6. Theoretical modeling

How to Apply

We invite abstracts for poster presentation from interested participants. Please send a one page abstract to flatlands2019@gmail.com by 10th August, 2019.

Selected participants will be informed by 15th August, 2019 via email as well as on the conference website.

The abstract should be of less than 200 words, written in plain ASCII, preferably in format given below.

The title (14 points/Times New Roman) should be followed by the name(s) of author(s) with the name of the person presenting underlined and their affiliation (12points/ Times New Roman). Full text (12 points / Times New Roman) of the abstract should follow the affiliation.

Registration fees of Rs. 3000/- to be paid at the time of the conference. Accommodation may be arranged on request.

Invited Speakers

  • K.V. Adarsh, IISER Bhopal
  • Amit Agarwal, IIT Kanpur
  • Satyajit Banerjee, IIT Kanpur
  • Sajal Dhara, IIT Kharagpur
  • Subhadeep Dutta, IACS
  • Arindam Ghosh, IISc
  • Saikat Ghosh, IIT Kanpur
  • Manish Jain, IISc
  • Rajeev Kini, IISER TVM
  • Saurabh Lodha, IIT Bombay
  • Kaushik Majumdar, IISc

  • T. N. Narayanan , TIFR Hyderabad
  • Atindra Nath Pal, S.N.Bose centre
  • S.K. Ray, S.N.Bose centre
  • Surajit Saha, IISER Bhopal
  • D.D. Sarma, IISc
  • P. Sen, HRI
  • T. Setti, S.N.Bose centre
  • M.M. Shaijumon, IISER TVM
  • Achintya Singha, Bose Institute
  • Madhu Thalakulam, IISER TVM



  • Atindra Nath Pal and Priya Mahadevan, SNBNCBS

Organizing Committee

  • Amit Aggrawal, IIT Kanpur
  • Bhavtosh Bansal, IISER Kolkata
  • Saikat Ghosh, IIT Kanpur